My Thoughts on Let’s Plays and Streaming

Gaming and YouTube didn’t always go hand in hand, in fact, there was a time when YouTube removed the Video Games category entirely (some people said this was a good idea). Google learned from their past mistakes and in 2015, Google launched YouTube Gaming. It’s a designated part of YouTube for only video game videos and competes with live-steaming sites like Twitch and Microsoft’s newly announced streaming platform, Mixer.

Streaming and ThumbsUpMaster didn’t always go hand in hand, however. Not even let’s playing was my thing, I was too nervous talking into a camera, and I didn’t know Pewdiepie would end up being as popular as he is now. Looking back, it’s not a big surprise considering the most viewed videos were reactions of the Scary Maze and 2girls1cup. He capitalized on an opportunity when playing horror games were hot (I want to say 2012) while other people either enjoyed watching them or were highly critical against “random” voice commentary in video games. Now, the random noise-making personality popularized by Pewds has been normalized to the point where Pewdie-esque videos exist without any critical analysis. Let’s plays are just there now (they’re like cool and whatever…). If your channel didn’t dominate with let’s plays in the early 2010s, good luck starting one now. Streaming is a different story though.

Let’s plays are comedy videos where the player will always have something funny or interesting to say. Sometimes, silence is edited out so viewers don’t click out. Inspired by vloggers, face cams were added in let’s plays, giving viewers more of a reason to keep watching. Compilations of the funniest parts in videos were also extremely popular due to them always displaying a new joke at the right time in a consistent manner (like the Evolution of Dance or my first Rated E? video). Let’s plays, in general, are a lot different than skits made by the Angry Video Game Nerd – they feel more real and there’s more of a personal connection.

Streaming, I’m fascinated by, because they’re like let’s plays but without the trouble of editing. They’re obviously a lot longer to watch, but seeing it all isn’t necessary. Anyone can join at anytime and you can watch a replay if you have the time to. Streamers don’t usually make compilation videos, but they’re great for advertising a channel. You can still get that sense of playing a video game with someone, but what do you prefer? A “chill” playthrough with easy-going commentary, or something more entertaining that tries to make you laugh?

I started streaming early this year at Twitch and YouTube Gaming and asked myself why I didn’t start sooner. I felt comfortable streaming and a strong connection with my viewers. During one of the streams at Twitch, I performed the “all moves” glitch in Banjo-Kazooie and told myself I’d make a video of it on my channel in the future. I wanted something entertaining, rather than me just streaming it, so I created this video narrated by Cheato the spellbook!

I want to stream more in the future but I need to find the time to. In a way, they inspire me to keep continue creating videos on my channel. Eventually, I’ll post a YouTube video or blog about my future plans.

YouTube – Broadcast Yourself…. and your video games.

 

One thought on “My Thoughts on Let’s Plays and Streaming”

  1. Family Friendly Felix knew exactly what the people wanted back then, and he still knows what we all want today. That’s what makes him so successful in the first place. He’s a genius. Then again… you’re kind of like the PewDiePie of Banjo-Kazooie, no? 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

